Herb of the Day: Cabbage


Cabbage
( Brassica oleracea )

Parts used: Leaves

Contains: rich in vitamins A, B1, B2, C, B6,

Cabbage is a biennial or perennial herb that grows to 8 ft.( 2.5 m) It has a thick stem, gray leaves, 4 petaled yellow flowers. Within the first year, it produces a greatly enlarged terminal bud that develops into a familiar cabbage head in the late summer. Wild cabbage is a native to coast of the English Channel, Mediterranean. Cultivated varieties are produced worldwide as a vegetable. Of all foods now believed to have cancer preventing effects, few rate as high as cabbage. Dr. Saxon Graham of Buffalo, New York reached colon cancer patients and those free of the disease about their food habits. As it turned out that the ones that never ate cabbage were 3 times likely to develop colon cancer, as those who ate it at least once a week. The Romans used it as an antidote, especially to alcohol, leaves were used to cleanse infected wounds, swellings, tumors, painful joints, toxins in the liver, treatment of arthritis, prevention of scurvy.

12 thoughts on “Herb of the Day: Cabbage

    • Hello Tango,
      I am happy to hear from you again. I pray you are well. It is better if one eats it raw like in salads, or stir fry, I like it with, Fennel seeds, garlic and saute. Steamed is a good way also, never over cook it. All vegetables should never be over cooked they loose their vitamins, taste,value to our health. Try sauteing shredded red cabbage with red cooking apples and a pinch of freshly grated nutmeg, then serve with grilled chicken.

  1. I first used it this morning. Spinach, apple, lettuce, and garlic. Not bad. I think I’m going to like it. The machine being super easy to clean also helps 🙂

    • Hello Tango,
      You can add spices like allspice, cinnamon sparkling water,yogurt,protein powder, honey, I have tried almost anything. I love juicing, you almost make meals out of it. Experiment well my friend.

  2. Yes…tomorrow I will experiment more. I hate to eat in the morning and I’ve been dealing with that by blending fruit, cinnamon, almond milk, hemp protein powder, some nuts and seeds and raw oatmeal into a thick shake. Veggies has been a problem though. I’m thinking that juicing them will solve that issue.

    • In your vegetables try onion powder, garlic powder, a dash of sage, rosemary, any spice you usually cook with your taste , rosemary is good for your memory, garlic,onion good for colds, sage is a antibacterial agent, good for ulcers, night sweats, lungs.

  3. Thanks, I will try that.
    ….so, can you move next door to me so that I can come over and pick your brain daily? Thanks for the tips, I really appreciate it! It’s amazing how great I feel after going GMO free. People still look at me crazy when I tell them, but I will keep on keeping on. It’s the best thing I have ever done.

    • Oh my yes I love to move next door but at 67 I better stay put . You can pick my mind here any time. Dont worry about people thinking crazy, I have also been called that. I believe that crazy means not and empty mind but one that is always trying and doing. As long as it helps not hurts. I still pick my herbs, make my lotions, creams and people use them. Ha Ha.

Leave a Reply

