Recipe of the Day: Poison Ivy Cream/Salve


The worst thing about Poison Ivy/Oak is that I am highly allergic to it! I have several cats and when spring hits, I start to worry. I have one cat in particular that loves to come into my bedroom and sleep on my pillow when I am not around. It doesn’t matter whether I cover my pillow or encase it in concrete, that cat finds a way onto my pillow. Of course, he waits until he has been across the road in the woods to do this. That usually means that he has been crawling around in the Poison Ivy!
You can guess what happens next. After I wake up I notice a problem with my face, it feels puffy and swollen. When I look in the mirror I look like the Toxic Avenger with a bad rash. So here is what I use to help get over it as soon as possible.

Poison Ivy Cream

Ingredients:
2 tsp Nettle (dried)
2 tsp Aloe Vera leaves (Fresh)
2 tsp Calendula (dried)
2 tsp Comfry (dried)
2 tsp Dandelion (dried)
2 tsp Thyme (dried)
1/4  oz beeswax
2 oz lanolin
2 TBSP tea tree oil

Directions
Combine herbs in clean bowl, pot or cup. Pour 1/2 cup boiling water over herbs. Let steep for 10 minutes. Strain through tea strainer, collecting liquid in clean bowl. Allow to cool and discard herbs. Melt beeswax and lanolin in heatproof glass set in simmering water. (Have a pan of water on the stove and set the glass holding the beeswax and lanolin into the simmering water. Don’t pour it in, this is a poor man’s double boiler). Add tea tree oil to the beeswax and lanolin and stir. Add herbal infusion by teaspoonful and stir until well blended. Remove the glass from the water. Let cream cool completely.
Stir salve thoroughly and transfer it to a clean container with tight fitting lids. (Baby food jars work well). This mixture will last up to 3 months.

Leave a Reply

