Food Recipe of the Day: Wild Rice Casserole


I’ll be the first to tell you that I am not fond of wild rice and you can probably use white or brown rice as a substitute. But I share all of my recipes and I guess that I can’t give the ones I like.

Wild Rice Casserole

Ingredients
1 cup wild rice, soaked overnight in cold water
2 cups fresh mushrooms, sliced
1/2 cup butter or margarine
2 tablespoons flour
2/3 cup milk
1 bay leaf
1 onion, sliced
salt
pepper
thyme
nutmeg
1/2 cup buttered crumbs
Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Drain soaked rice. Cover with boiling salted water and let stand for 20 minutes. Drain again and set aside.

In skillet, brown mushrooms in butter. Sprinkle with flour and blend well. Scald milk with bay leaf and onion. Strain and add to mushroom mixture. Stir constantly until thickened. Add drained rice and season to taste with salt, pepper, nutmeg, and a pinch of powdered thyme. Transfer to a generously buttered casserole dish. Sprinkle top with buttered crumbs and bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

One thought on “Food Recipe of the Day: Wild Rice Casserole

  1. Thanks for sharing your recipe for Wild Rice Casserole. It sounds yummy. Wild rice is my favorite kind of rice but its so expensive that I don’t have it very often. ak

Leave a Reply

