I need a little feedback.


Hi everyone, My son has almost convinced me that I should do a “How-To” video on how to make a cream or salve. I have been working on choosing the cream that I want to make, but I guess I’d like to know if it just going to be a waste of time.

Readership on this blog has dropped to about 6 people a day. I guess that I have just gotten a little dejected. I definitely appreciate the 6 people that view daily, it seems like alot of work for so few. I had initially envisioned many people reading this and being able to share with many different people, the beginners to the veterans.

Of course, I am also trying to grow my rather small business. I’ve had my other website for over 4 months and have gotten only 2 customers. It seems like a great expense for no gain. Being retired and living off of a small pension, I had thought that I would be able to have a small business of my own. Apparently, this is going to be much harder than a 66 year old grandmother can handle.

I do not have the computer skills to make everything on my blog and website just perfect for the savvy online customer, so I have been swinging blind. It is so hard to get feedback from people to see how I can improve my site. (You know most of your friends won’t tell you the downside to what you do)

So, anyway, I am still going to do the video for those couple of beginners that have been loyal, you veteran already know how to do this, but you’re welcome to see it too. I hope everyone has a great day.

Thanks

Susan

18 thoughts on “I need a little feedback.

  1. Hi Susan,
    I’ve been lurking on your blog for a while now and have very much enjoyed it. Please keep on doing what your doing, you have a wealth of great information here. I just have one suggestion. You changed your blog a while ago which really makes it hard on the eyes to read.
    I’m looking forward to seeing your video!!
    Tango

    • Thanks Tango, I just changed to a softer theme. I agree the last theme was a little hard on the eyes, I was trying to go for the “natural” look due to my blog, herbs. Thanks for the suggestion.

      Susan

      • Thanks Susan. That’s much better. LOL…now if you could make the font black instead of gray, it would be perfect. 🙂
        Tango

  2. I get your e-mails daily and read them passionetly. Love it. I cannot see very well so the print on this page is too difficult to read so I do not come here more often.

    • Thanks Marsha, I just received another comment similar to yours,so I went and changed the format immediately. My granddaughter loved the old one, but she has young eyes. (smile) It is now much easier to read. Thank you so much for following my blog and it is because of the people like you that I continued.

      Susan

    • Hello Marsha,I agree with you on hard to read it,so I change it so easier to read. I also have eye trouble to read
      things. I use herb eyebright that helps a lot.
      Have a blessing today Marsha.
      Susan

  3. I think of making a salve or cream using comfrey would be great, it has so many uses. Adding lavender to such would make it smell a lot better and lavender is the neosporin of the herbal community.

    • Hello Cherie,
      Yes using comfrey in any cream for infections are a must around the home. My Uncle Frank was a Cherokee Indian
      and when we as kids would get hurt we would run to him and he would slap ,as he would say, a good herb on it.
      He was so amazing to be around. I only wish I would have learn a lot more from him. We had very little money
      we were farmers and trappers. So what the good Lorn gave us we used.Oregon Grape is a good antibiotic as well.
      Have a Blessing today Cherie
      Susan

  4. Hi Susan,
    I haven’t responded recently, but I read the emails I receive everyday.
    Getting started is often hard and requires a lot of time, the thing is, I feel you are very dedicated to what you are doing and you are very good at it.
    I think a video would be great, I think personally that a salve would be easier than a lotion or cream and doesn’t leave so much room for the lotion or cream to not emulsify, that is my opinion and also the reason I really don’t like making creams and lotions because if you don’t get it right you’ve lost your product and the money it cost to make it.
    It’s getting to be time for gardening so maybe a salve for gardening hands would be a good one and adding plantain, calendula, lavender and chickweed to your comfrey might be a good one. Something to play around with.
    It takes time for things to catch on and 66 isn’t old, especially when your heart is young and you are striving to help people. I’ve learned the old “you can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make him drink” is certainly true when it comes to helping yourself or others trying to help, when it is alternative and much less expensive. Somehow the American public has an embeded thought that if it costs a lot it MUST be better!! Also they want instant gratification and herbal healing takes time, but it heals the body not the symptoms. I”ve become disillusioned with this type of thinking myself, but I keep trying and give products and information, but I’m learning not to be upset when people won’t even try something. Maybe charging exorbitent prices for our products is the key. LOL
    Please don’t give up, you are just getting started, give it more time. I’ve also found that buying online goes in cycles, none specific but I get one oreder then 2-3 more come in. I can’t explainit. LOL
    I think you do a great job and I enjoy your blog.
    Sincerely,
    Lynn
    You can email me off line if you’d like at eaglebear1@msn.com

    • Hello Lynn,
      I know what you are saying and you are right. My Niece is a RN and a few years back she had ring worm
      and went to the doctors and spent a lot of money but never got rid of it. I said do you want to get rid of it .
      How with your herbs she said, yes of course i told her . So I dug some indian tobacco root and wash it good
      and boiled it in cider vinegar for 1/2 hour cooled and she put it on the ring worm many times a day and it was
      gone in 4 days. But as a RN she still does not believe my herbs.I tell any time you need help just call me.

      Thank you for your kind words Lynn

      Have a Blessing Lynn
      Susan

  5. I read all your posts that come to my in box, even though I rarely come onto your site, and have been amazed at how much effort you put into them. Today’s recipe is one I wish I’d had years ago when I tried to make a salve for sore nipples when breastfeeding, and I couldn’t get the tea infusion to blend at all with the oils. Used it anyways, but it was quite messy!

    I recently completed the Family Herbalist course in the online Dr. John Christopher’s School of Natural Healing and have found your blog to be complementary to what I learned there. I found out about you through the thread Health and Healing.

    I wish you success!

    Thank you and God bless,

    Rosemary

    • Rosemary,
      It sounds like you were trying to make a hot-infused oil for the sore nipples. When I am making infused oils like that, I always continue to boil the mixture until all of the water is gone, then once the water is gone, I strain the leftover and have an herbal hot infused oil. Try it that way next time and maybe it won’t be quite so messy.

  6. Dear Susan,
    I’m a grannie too and I really enjoy your herbal teaching. I have always believed herbs although my family never used any that I remember. My grandmother may have as she nursed me through many childhood illness.

    I find your blog very interesting and your knowledge is invaluable. I live in the Ozarks and people around here Are into herbs but not computers, although computers are gaining some popularity.

    As everyone knows now, we have a really sagging economy and perhaps that is what makes your sales drag. Your blog is easy for me to read and very educational. I would enjoy a video but I have “dial-up” which is very slow & frustrating for viewing a video. So I do not facebook, twitter or blog-it just takes forever. However, if You make a video I Will go the the library (it has Wi-Fi) and view it, because I want to learn.

    Thanks for your effort & dedication. Please feel free to e-mail me.
    Ann K.
    dak_72560@yahoo.com

  7. Hello Susan,
    I don’t visit your blog every day but I do subscribe to it and I just LOVE all the information I receive from you.

    I’ve only been subscribed for a week or two and I’ve learned so much already!

    I think a video would be okay. I’ve used them to learn so maybe give it a try.

    Is it better for you and your business if I actually visit the blog? Is there anything I might do to help?

    Let me know.
    Blessings!
    Dottie

    • Hi Dottie,
      I knew you were one of my 6 supporters and I truly appreciate you and the others that came every day. That’s why I continued doing the blog. It was just getting a little frustrating doing all the work and I was at my wits end trying to figure out a way to get more people here to the blog.

      Thanks again for your support and I hope you continue to enjoy.

      Susan

  8. Hello Again,
    If there’s anything I might be able to do to help you out, let me know. I’d be glad to do what I can.
    Dottie

  9. I love your blog and read them from the emails I receive. I love your recipes and print them out to eagerly try. I would LOVE the how to videos and this is what I really want to try making. Don’t be dejected we’re still out here and appreciate all the hard work you do. Rebecca

Leave a Reply

