How to: Make Herb Wine


Some people who cook like to have various kinds of wines to flavor their meals. For those of you who like different flavors of vinegar, this recipe is ideal for making flavored vinegars. Or, if you just like to try new things, this is ideal as well.

I found this recipe in my grandma’s personal cookbook. I have never made it myself, but I know that she did when I was a child. It is just labeled “Herb Wine”, and by the ingredients, I bet it would make a great vinegar.

Since this recipe is over 80 years old, my grandma recommends that when you add the sugar, you should use either raw brown sugar or molasses. For water, it is best to use either rain water or distilled water.

Here is the recipe that I have:
The recipe does not say fresh or dried, so use your discretion

2 oz dandelion
1 oz yellow dock
1 oz chamomile
1 oz nettle
1 oz burdock
1 tbsp sassafras
1 tbsp ginger
3 lbs sugar

Boil the herbs for 15 to 20 minutes in a gallon of water. Strain the liquid and dissolve the sugar in it. Let stand a day, stirring occasionally. Add another gallon of warm water, mix in an ounce of yeast and allow to ferment about a week. Strain and bottle.

For vinegar: omit ginger and let stand as before for another 7-10 days.

Leave a Reply

