How to: Keep Your Pet Flea & Tick Free


I have both cats and dogs. I also live out in the country, so most of my cats are outdoor cats. Except in the winter, then they all want to be indoor cats. When I first moved out here, my animals wanted to share everything with me. You know what I mean, everything like mice, moles, rabbits, minks and of course, fleas & ticks.
I did a little research and came up with few remedies for my animals. They still feel the need to share all the dead mice and such, but now they don’t have any fleas or ticks to share with me. Here’s what I did.

1st- In their drinking water, I now put a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar in each dish of water I give them. It helps shine up their coats and since they drink the vinegar water, it gets into their bloodstreams and the fleas don’t like the taste.

2nd- When I give the dogs their baths, I always mix 2 cups of apple cider vinegar to one gallon of water and pour it on after the rinse. (Don’t do this if they have sores though, it stings like alcohol) Once again, it shines their coats and if they currently have fleas, you can see them jumping off after you pour it on!

3rd- I make my own flea powder. Here’s the ingredients I use.
1- 4oz bottle fine ground garlic powder(same consistency as flour)
1- 4oz bottle rosemary
1- 4oz bottle rue
1/2 cup eucalyptus leaves
1/2 cup wormwood (dried herb) (helps to keep them from licking it off)

Put all this in a blender, coffee grinder or food processor and blend until you get it as fine as possible.
I use one of those plastic coffee can and have drilled many, many holes into the top so it looks like a giant salt shaker.
Twice a week I sprinkle it on my animals and rub it in by stroking their coats “against the grain” to get it close to the skin and near the follicles, where the fleas like to stay.
Store in a cool dry place, out of the sun.

Leave a Reply

